Pursuing a childhood dream…

 

When I was a kid, my parents didn’t spoil us. Especially my mom. Whenever I take an interest to something, be it a toy or a dress, or basically anything, she wouldn’t buy it an instant. She would first weigh the pros and cons. With toys, most of the time, she wouldn’t buy it for us. She would tell us that we don’t need a new toy, or we aren’t rich, we don’t have enough money. In that sense, my brother and I grew up controlling ourselves in spending money on things we don’t actually need. My parents imbued to us the virtue of being wise in spending hard-earned money.

Now that I am working and earning my own salary, well, I wouldn’t say that I don’t waste money. I do, most of the time. But I try to make sure I don’t waste it on impulse buying. I have a lot of more important things to spend my money for. BUT.

BUT, when I was a kid, for the most part of my childhood, I spent my time playing Lego. I focused mainly on playing those toys since I only have few other toys that isn’t Lego. And while I was growing up, mainly during college, I realized that I have some deep-seated longing for toys. So, now that I am earning on my own, I buy the toys that I wanted to have. And no, I don’t do impulse buying. I take time to consider on whether I really like it, or I just like it for the moment. I don’t want to waste my money and regret buying the toy.

How about you? Do you have any childhood dream you want to pursue?

2 thoughts on “Pursuing a childhood dream…

  1. Oh my God, this is so relatable, I was going to write about it as well. And not just even with toys (it’s true, I never got to buy the cool action figures) its with everything. With getting my hair dyed and getting expensive art supplies and I think I’ve still got a child in me who wants to fulfil all the things it didn’t get and that’s why I think a part of me stopped growing after 12 and it wants a lot of things and I’m always like yeah, when I earn on my own, I will buy this and this and do this and I won’t be at rest till I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m happy to know that you can relate with me, and thank you very much for reading my blog~
      I believe it’s not yet too late to pursue your dreams. You can always find a way to reach your goals, be it tangible or not. Rather than regretting in the end for holding back, I would instead do the things I want to do, as long as it is within my capacity and I don’t aggravate anyone. If you have a dream that you haven’t fulfilled yet, maybe it’s now time for you to have that willpower in your heart to pursue your dreams~
      Have fun and I wish you all the best!
      Again, thank you for reading~

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

