The girl I once was

Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee, because thou hast left thy first love.

-Revelation 2:4

 

And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to His purpose.

-Romans 8:28

 

I noticed I’ve changed for the worse

For this, I’ve nothing but remorse

Why did I ever take this course?

As if I was taken by force

 

Back then I used to be faithful

Obedient to Your every rule

But now, I’m nothing but a fool

I’m now someone ever so cruel

 

I scarcely knew what I’ve become

I’ve turned into someone lonesome

Always unsure of what will come

Eventually, I am all numb

 

Superficial love, shallow pain

Judgmental eyes so inhumane

There isn’t anything to gain

But all changed me to become vain

 

I wish I’m the girl I once was

Unmoved by whatever the cause

Obedient to all of Your laws

Faithful to Your words without flaws

 

_yankaGonzales©2017

Leave a Reply

