What makes us quit?

Recently, I just had a lot of friends who are either resigning, wanting to resign or recently resigned; which made me think, what makes us quit on a job?

Last September 2016, I quit my job at a car dealer company for a job offer in a government office. In my previous employer, I work there as an inventory accountant, and to be honest, I’m quite satisfied with what I do there. I said quite, ‘coz I believe there’s still something that’s lacking. But what made me resign (which I believe I have mentioned before) was the people I’m dealing with. Since day 1, the aura of the place never changed. As I describe it, it’s the breeding ground of hypocrites. I’ve had enough dealing with the people in our team (Specialized Accounting Section), especially my supervisor. I mean we act civil and professional, but there’s just this feeling, like a dark aura or something, that even my officemates who sit far away from us, feel that friction between us. I don’t normally react to that—simply dismiss it off. Yes, I can feel it, but I still act as a proper subordinate (I think). But I tend to take revenge in a simple way: I play a rock music in the office. Annoyed as she is, I still continue playing it (not in a sense that bothers our overall performance at work, just enough to piss her off). When finally, I’ve had enough (since the long awaited confirmation from Commission on Audit has come), I tendered my resignation letter. Well, I originally postponed it for a later date, but something happened between us that day which made me decide to resign. It was a Friday, and I’m busy with my Official Registry Book (ORB) which I should submit to BIR by Monday, so they didn’t had the chance to talk to me. It wasn’t until the following week that the General Manager and the Consultant talked to me to reconsider. The Finance Manager was new that time (just been reshuffled from a sister company), so he didn’t talk to me until the following week. To cut the story short, they were trying to persuade me not to resign. But my decision was final (since day1), and I’m not backing out on it. I was even asked by the consultant if it’s the work or the financials that concerned me. She said that they’re willing to give me an increase (and probably a promotion) but even if they give that to me, my decision will still be the same. I told them it’s the work, but to be honest, it’s my officemates. Regarding my salary, well, it’s not much, but I have no qualms about it (even if I’m the breadwinner of the family). My mother’s good in budgeting, plus I don’t really do much shopping, so I think my pay was fine. Although just to mention, I’m being paid higher than my officemates of the same position because of my CPA title. Back then, I remembered that they’re considering to transfer me to General Accounting Department because of that, but our department kinda lack people during that time (as our manager then just resign and a lot of other employees followed), so the transfer never happened.

Anyway, at first, I never appreciated my job. I felt underemployed for what I do every day. Besides, it’s not the kind of industry I foresaw myself dealing with during college days. Which also contributed to the reason why I resigned.

By the way, have I mentioned why I ended up there? I never really planned to work back then, as I was to take the CPA board exam. But the company called me, so I tried it and was hired. So as not to be coined talkshit, I showed up on my first day, and continued to be employed for a year and a month. But since it’s not a dream job for me, the decision to resign was there from the start. I just continued being employed out of courtesy ‘coz I told the HR during interview that I only see myself working there for a year. They still hired me despite that, so I feel obliged to do my end of the deal.

I remember the thing I wrote in my resignation letter: it’s a dream come true for me. I wrote there that my appointment in COA has been signed and working there was a dream come true for me. Well, not really. I just made that up. Or maybe partly yes. Because I didn’t imagine myself working here. Or maybe I did, about 5%. But the nature of the work is just what I wanted. The satisfaction is there. And to be honest, my experience here will be beneficial in the long run. I’m not saying that my former work wasn’t beneficial at all. It’s the growth as a professional, it’s what I’m referring to. Because back then, it was always inventory and nothing but inventory. I start to forget the other things I learned in college. The five years (and two months) I spent in college would all go to waste. That’s why I gave up on it.

So that’s actually my point here. There are a lot of reasons why we leave a certain job. If you’re not satisfied, what’s the point of staying? If you don’t foresee yourself doing this job, why stay? In the first place, why would you apply for the position? Don’t go off doing what I did, unless spontaneity is your thing. You don’t just look for a job for the sake of being employed. When you apply for a job, it’s important to consider what you want and be specific. Well, it’s hard, but at least have a vision for yourself. And when you find yourself stuck in a draining job, might as well leave. Although please do not make the same mistake again of landing a draining job.

Leave a Reply

